Scrivener, Writing

Scrivener – Initial Thoughts

A week ago I purchased and downloaded Scrivener after hearing multiple raves about it. Being a NaNoWriMo 2010 winner I had a 50% off code and finally made the leap to purchase it.

So far, I really like it. It took me a little while to figure out how to import my WIP from Word, but once I watched the tutorial (those things really help!) it was easy.

My favorite feature so far has to be the research section. I love being able to store multiple formats of research in one handy-dandy place. Since my current WIP is my NaNoWriMo draft, I didn’t do a lot of research prior to starting, or during November really, so now that I am revising I am researching more to expand and clarify my characters and plot. Scrivener‘s research area is working great for this.

I will be sure to do a more detailed review in a few months once I have had more time using it, but so far I recommend Scrivener! It’s much better than the Word and numerous pieces of paper I was using before, that’s for sure!

7 thoughts on “Scrivener – Initial Thoughts”

  1. I love the look of your blog, too, but it's Scrinever I'm here becuase of.I'm a NaNo winner and I want one of those too! Trouble is – I've a PC, so I have to wait.Will come back to read a more detailed review

  2. No, Kate Kyle, there's a Windows version now too! (And a Linux beta!)Jennie, you know you can even import a music track and associate it with a particular scene? Or a picture of one of your characters – I love doing this, because suddenly I can see the person and know better how s/he'll act.

Leave a Reply

