The First Drop, Writing, Young Adult

The Next Big Thing…

After seeing the always awesome Jessica do this on her blog, I had to jump in on the action. I’m using the novel I just finished the first draft a few weeks ago and am in line-by-line initial edits at the moment.

What is the working title of your book?
Right now, it’s titled The First Drop.

Where did the idea come from?
I seem to get one scene in my mind for each of the novel ideas I have come up with. This one involved two teens on a Ferris wheel overlooking the town deep into the night. For some reason a lot of summer themed country songs were super inspiring for me on this draft. Eric Church, Jason Aldean, Lady A’s, and Dierks Bentley are just some of the most played artist for writing, and now editing, this novel.

What genre does your book fall under?
YA Contemporary. There is a romance element, but I don’t think it’s really under the romance genre.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’m not sure exactly at this point. I found some photos on Pinterest, but I haven’t found one exactly that nails each of the main characters. Here is what I’ve narrowed down though.

Olive (Main Character)

 

Vi (Olive’s BFF)


Milo (Olive’s love interest)

 

Finn (Vi’s love interest) 



 

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Here goes: Best Friends take on summer jobs at the local amusement park and along the way they experience their first loves, first fights, and the first hint of their futures. 

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I hope it will someday be represented by an agency…but I probably should get these edits done first. 🙂 


How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Forty-thousand years! Just kidding – I started it as my NaNoWriMo 2011 story and finished in September 11, 2012.  

May we see an intro?
Nope – not spilling it just yet – it’s still too rough for public eyes! 🙂

What other books would you compare this story to? 

By no means am I anywhere near as talented as a published author to be able to truly compare to, but I hope to have the vibe that Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins has. 
 
Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The characters. They just wouldn’t BE QUIET in my head.
 
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Hmmmm….how about: making out on a Ferris Wheel, a field party, kissing, artsty-fartsy, purple hair dye, and more kissing! 
 

4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing…”

  1. I would love to be a critique buddy when you are finished with edits! I'm determined to write a book, but haven't made it out of the gate yet. But I love YA and can give you a "non-writer's critique." lol!

Leave a Reply

