Goals, SNI, The First Drop

Goals…

I’ve been struggling with goal setting. I need goals on a timeline that allows for rough days without any writing, maybe even multiple rough days in a row. Life with an infant and a 4-year old can make for an exhausted momma by bedtime. I’m a very goal oriented person, so it gets under my skin if I miss my deadline, but I’m trying to take on a more “fluid” attitude at this point in my life.

After a lot of thinking I think I’ve got something that will work:

*First round of edits done by the end of May.

*Second round, including plot changes and new scenes by late-June.

*Send novel by the end of June to a few trusted beta readers and my mom for comma corrections. (I stink at comma usage…she’s my lifesaver!)

*Print out novel and go line-by-line editing and incorporate beta comments by mid to late July.

*Spend August having a few others read for plot and major readability issues while I work on my query letter and agent list of those I want to query.

*Spend September making any changes/rewrites needed.

*Hopefully query by the end of the year.

I also plan to be plotting/developing/writing my SNI too this year. It’s set during the summer so I’d love to actually write a bunch of it during the warm months here.

I figure these goals are lose, but still have timelines to them. Hopefully, I can stick with them. Anyone who is willing to keep me accountable, I’ll love you forever. 🙂

In other news, I created a Facebook Page for my writing journey. If you feel so inclined, you can check it out here.

2 thoughts on “Goals…”

  1. These are great. I’m struggling with the same thing, but hoping to finish my scene by scene outline in the next week or so and dive into my massive rewrite. (And reading First Drop and getting comments to you is on my list of goals for this month too =)

Leave a Reply

