Personal Stuff, Random, The First Drop, What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday…

I’m joining in the What’s Up Wednesday feature hosted by Jaime Morrow. I keep trying to make blogging a higher priority here, but lately writing has taken priority, plus a whole host of books I’ve borrowed from the library that are days away from being overdue.

What I’m Reading:

Yes, it’s an ARC that I borrowed from a buddy who went to BEA. And (please, don’t shoot me) so far…it’s slow going. It’s not grabbing me like the first did.

What I’m writing: Revisions, revisions, revisions. I’m making some major plot changes to The First Drop – trying to speed up the plot and thicken the characters and their relationships. Oh, and trying to make my MC’s Lover Boy a little less like a instalove creep. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve gotten some amazing insight and comments from two of my favorite friends/beta readers so I’m tweaking things and shutting down the laptop at night feeling like I have a stronger story because of it.

What Inspires Me: I blogged about it last week, but the flowers that are blooming everywhere – including the side of a busy, congested road – are reminding me to see the positive in life.

What Else I’ve Been Up To: My cousin, originally from Texas, brought Sammie this placemat with the Presidents on one side, and the First Ladies on the reverse. Sammie is in love. We spend our meals talking about the Presidents, their wives, and where they lived. “Washington C” ๐Ÿ™‚

1043950_10200270674871901_1459212890_n

Our local library system opened a new fancy-pants location pretty close to our house, so yesterday the four of us went to check it out. And, it is GORGEOUS! Windows everywhere and comfy seating = hello new writing space away from home! Amazing children’s section = hello storytime plans for us!

994797_10200289247376202_326084674_n 1044083_10200289246896190_1553026212_n

7 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. One of the things that really helped me write a love interest is to write a scene from his perspective (assuming yours is not multi-POV). I hear all the time how writers will free write something or create whole pinterest boards for each character, all these different things that really just end up meaning you are fleshing out your supporting characters.

    Those president/first lady placements seem like something my family would have been into. We used to have books on all the presidents which I would actually read because I was kind of a nerd. But hey, smart kids are cool now ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh wow! What a beautiful library! I’d be spending some serious quality time there too! Man, I so hope THE DREAM THIEVES ends up being good. I loved the first book and have high hopes for it too. Good luck with your plot changes!

  3. Wow, that library it gorgeous! Yay for it being close to you!!
    Ooh, I’m looking forward to THE DREAM THIEVES so much…I loved the first one. You’ll have to tell us what it’s like when you’re done!
    And good luck with the revisions!

  4. I love the look of your library! (and am very jealous because my library looks nothing like that) I’m also super jealous of your ARC read! I can’t wait for DREAM THIEVES to hit the shelves!

  5. Aaah, the instalove creep. One of my favorites. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love the pictures you shared of your library’s new space, and I’m a little envious! What an amazing place to read and write!

    Best of luck with your revision goals this week, Jennie!

Leave a Reply

