Personal Stuff, The First Drop, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday…

ButtonSmallBorder

Once again, I’m joining the What’s Up Wednesday feature hosted by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. It’s fun, so you should join too! πŸ™‚

What I’m reading – I’m finally getting back on track with the Presidential Challenge and reading m Rutherford Hayes biography. I hope to finish it tonight, because I picked up another 4 books from the library this week. And, that’s on top of the 6 or so I already have checked out. I may have a slight addiction to the hold button on my library’s website. πŸ™‚

What I’m writing – Um, well. This past week has been a week of doubt and general frustration. I’m struggling with all of this writing thing. I’m overwhelmed with half ideas. I’m overwhelmed with making a query letter perfect. I’m terrified of spending all this time trying to get published and never actually get there. I’m terrified that my MS sucks beyond repairability. And yes, I just made that word up.

So, I haven’t written much lately. I just don’t know what to do really. I need someone/CP to tear my MS apart, but then love me when I fall apart after. Any takers?

What else I’ve been up to – Life with my crazy kiddos. This weekend it was gorgeous outside so we spent some time outside. I’ve been on a major (read insane) drive to live with less, minimize our stuff, and purge the extra stuff. We’re finally slowly selling the baby stuff as Emmett grows out of it, and we cleaned out the kid’s closets ruthlessly. We have a huge pile of things to donate, and a huge pile to sell to a local kids’ resale store.

Today Emmett had his 6 month check up and got three vaccinations. So, I foresee the next few days of clingy baby snuggles.

What inspires me right nowThis family. Including their adorable trailer and breathtaking photos.Brett and I have been talking a lot lately about the American Dream and what that really means these days. I don’t know that we’ll sell everything and go on the road like the Prouty’s, but the think smaller mindset is definitely in our home right now. I may do a separate post about this, because it plays a lot into the what I’m writing (or not) section above.

Anywho…what’s up with your Wednesday?

17 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. I totally understand the worry/doubt surrounding writing. I go through those phases all the time, especially during the school year. I just graduated with a creative writing degree, and some of the workshop classes were brutal. :/ You just have to do what makes you happy, and if writing does that, let it be enough for now. Take the querying/publication process one small step at a time.

    Good luck with writing this week!

  2. Sorry to hear you are feeling down in the dumps writing wise. I’m actually looking for a few new CPs, so if you want to swap pages I might we willing. You can contact me at katherine.elliott.scott(at)gmail.

  3. Stop that train right now! Your MS is pretty awesome and you need to see it to the end. If you get rejections, so what, keep trying! I think it’s a strong MS. I may not be a professional, but I’m a reader of books, so I know a good book when I see one.

    The right agent is out there for you, waiting for your book to make it’s way to him/her. You can do it!

  4. Hang in there! We all go through rough patches with writing. You’ll get through it πŸ˜€

    And remember, the query letter doesn’t need to be perfect. It just needs to capture the right agent’s attention.

    Good luck and have a really great week!

  5. I love the idea of living with less–and I think it’s important and admirable to think about what the American Dream means. Thanks for reminding me. πŸ™‚
    Good luck with your writing–hang in there!

    1. It’s something I’m going to expand on in another post I think, but for now, I’m focusing on really evaluating the things in our life versus the people and experiences. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the luck, I need it.

  6. While I never enjoyed the shots, I did love the clingy snuggles. My big ones don’t do that so much anymore. 😦 And hang in there!!! I’ve been there, done that, and am there all over again. But the query writing and the writing does get better the more you do it and then you find people who get you and get your work and still love you after. It happens. Trust me. I hope you have a much better week with writing and feeling good about things. And sometimes it’s okay to just write whatever – even if it’s crappy. I am the queen of crappy writing – but it’s down on the page and I can fix it up later.

    1. I get you on the snuggles. My 4-year old has to be sick to snuggle anymore. Sad. πŸ™‚

      And thanks for the pep talk! You’re right. Crap words are still words!

  7. I hear you on the doubt and frustration. The writing process is like an emotional roller coaster for me. I hope you feel less overwhelmed soon. Also, I love your comment about the “think smaller mindset.” We’re constantly trying to simplify things in our home, so I totally get that. Thanks for joining us for What’s Up Wednesday! Have a great week!

  8. “I’m terrified of spending all this time trying to get published and never actually get there.” Yes. That is very much how I’ve been feeling lately… All year, in fact. Boo.

    I am so down to read for you, Jennie! My girl starts school next week, and I’ll have plenty of extra time then. Does that work for you?

  9. Being minimalistic always seems like a good idea to me. I just went through and purged my wardrobe of all the clothes I don’t actually wear anymore and donated it to Big Brothers & Big Sisters. It’s hard to figure out what the American dream really is nowadays 😦

    But! Don’t think like that about writing! You’re a fabulous writer. You’ve found a strong voice — which is the hardest thing, in my opinion. The First Drop has awesome characters and setting, it just needs some restructuring. It’s totally fixable and beyond to get a lot of attention πŸ™‚

  10. I have a suggestion for you, Jennie: WriteOnCon is in a couple of weeks–a free, online, 2-day writer’s conference. One of the best parts of WriteOnCon is that they have forums for query/pages critiques. Join up and submit your work for critique: the query, the first 250 words, and the first 5 pages. Yes, some people will be brutal with their critiques, but most people try to be encouraging and constructive. Also, they have Ninja Agents–anonymous literary agents who randomly select forum submissions and offer their thoughts. Sometimes they request pages based on the submissions. I encourage you to consider signing up (http://www.writeoncon.com).

    I hope you have a wonderful writing week. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

