Personal Stuff, Random, Reading

A Reading Funk…

Do you ever get into a reading funk? The past week I’ve picked up two books, but after reading a few chapters (one I made it to 100+) but put them down because they aren’t grabbing you. I don’t think it’s the books, because they seemed interesting enough for me to want to read and I know a lot of other people have enjoyed these books.

I searched my enormous TBR shelf bookcases AND the large stack of library books, but still came up empty handed. Nothing sounds good. Blah. I think part of my struggle is that I’m overwhelmed with all the books I want to read. So, I cleared out almost all of the library books and took them back. I had put a bunch on hold because they were new releases, but they all came available at the same time. I can check them out again later, right?

I ended up finally picking up a book from my library stack, Where’d You Go, Bernadette b Maria Semple, because a bunch of the ladies in my online book club have been talking it up. I’m on page 70 something and enjoying it. So, hopefully, this will pull me out of my funk.

What do you do when you get into a reading funk? I’d love tips for the next time I find myself here. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Reading Funk…”

  1. When I find myself in a reading funk, I’m generally in a funk, overall. When that happens, I usually find myself pulling a Jane Austen novel from the shelf. Probably a cliche, but I really enjoy her writing, and can read her work over and over again without getting bored. Plus, her wit and sense of humor tend to make me feel better, overall. Therapy in paperback form. Hope your reading funk has been cured!

Leave a Reply

