Personal Stuff, Random, Reading, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday…

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. Check out her blog for all the wonderful writer blogs!

What I’m Reading – Perhaps my most anticipated book of this year – Just One Year. The amazing Ginger at GReads! is letting me borrow her ARC. In related news, I almost broke my windows shrieking when the package arrived Monday! πŸ™‚ I’m about half-way through and there have been no shortage of swoons moments!!

What I’m Writing – I received some great comments/suggestions from a CP/reader this weekend on The First Drop, so I’ve been working on brainstorming a few holes and making some changes to that. I’ve also been brainstorming my next story. It’s starting to come together nicely. I’m taking a lot of what I’ve learned from TFD, and incorporating it into this new story. Trying to map out the plot a lot better, getting to know my characters and their lives more, and adding more conflict/tension into each scene.

What Else I’ve Been Up To – Packing! I leave for an amazing weekend in a cabin on a lake outside Nashville VERY early Friday morning. I CAN NOT WAIT. Two nights of solid sleep without a baby waking me up. Beautiful views. Some of my favorite friends. Books. Reading time. Writing time. Sleep. (did I mention that already?)

20130828-103406.jpg

What Inspires Me Right Now – I’ve been a bit low this week. We found out for sure Monday that Sammie will need surgery by the end of the year. This will be her second surgery and she’s only four. Parenting is SO very hard, and this part is the hardest. I want to take her place, but I can’t. I will say that her strength is inspiring. I still freak out when I get blood drawn, she’s a champ at all things medical.

We’re also gearing up to put our house on the market soon. So, we’ve been reorganizing the house, packing things up to have stored in m parent’s basement (yay free storage unit!) and dealing with the finance paperwork to buy a new home. Fun, fun. It’s exciting for our future, but still stressful in the moment.

I mean, these books look sad to be packed up, right?

BSTMDzPCIAAGm-Z

So, basically, I’ve been somewhat lacking in the inspiration department this week. I know once we get the house actually on the market and I feel some forward momentum instead of this stagnant almost there feeling, things will look brighter.

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. A cabin on a lake is one of my dream holidays! I hope you get a lot of productive reading, writing, and thinking done there. And good luck to your daughter with her surgery. I’ve had seven surgeries, and they’re never fun to get through.

  2. I hope your little one gets better soon. I can only imagine what it must be like. Hang in there πŸ™‚ And enjoy the cabin! Sounds absolutely wonderful! ❀

  3. Aaah, tension and conflict… My biggest challenges. Why can’t I just write a story where everything is lovely and people get along great? πŸ˜‰ Have so much fun at your Nashville retreat. I’m just a *little* jealous — I adore Nashville, and I’d love to get away for a few days of writing. πŸ™‚

  4. I hope you have a great weekend! Sounds like it will be a blast! And I am so jealous of your JUST ONE YEAR read – but I only have to wait a little bit longer. Can’t wait!

  5. Awww, poor Sammie! 😦 I felt bad when my daughter when in to have her tonsils removed–I can’t imagine what you’re going through.

    In the midst of all that’s happening, I hope you have an inspired and productive week, Jennie. πŸ™‚

  6. I wasn’t sure if I was going to read JUST ONE YEAR, but I confess I’m a little curious what Willem was up to, and now that you’ve mentioned swoony moments… Yeah, I’ll probably end up reading it. πŸ™‚ You’re cabin trip sounds fantastic! Like the perfect getaway. I’m sorry to hear about your little girl. She sounds like a very inspiring young lady. I hope you have a great week, Jennie. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

