Uncategorized

What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. Check out her blog for all the wonderful writer blogs!

I’m calling this week’s WUW the Cottage Getaway version. My weekend away was, well, amazing. Refreshing. Relaxing. Fun. Fabulous. I could go on for awhile! 🙂

What I’m Reading: I finished these three books over the weekend. If you’re a Gilmore Girls fan, don’t waste your time. I had high hopes, but the essays were riddled with errors and gross assumptions.

20130903-174427.jpg

I’m now reading The Founding Gardeners by Andrea Wulf. I saw this on my last HPB trip and was pleased to find out my library has a copy. We’ve started backyard gardening this year, and that combined with participating in the Presidential Challenge, this is perfect for me.

What I’m Writing:

I decided not to take my laptop with me to the cottage. It was last minute, buying felt I needed a break – no kids, no chores, no “work” including writing. I’m so glad I left writing at home. I feel fully refreshed. And, we spent so much time doing these things, that I wouldn’t have had much writing time anyway.

What Else I’ve Been Up To: Here’s a quick glimpse of my weekend away.

Playing Settlers of Catan

20130903-174443.jpg

Visiting Andrew Jackson’s home, The Hermitage.

20130903-174508.jpg

These amazing Harry Potter cookies Jacki and her husband made.

20130903-174516.jpg

What Inspires Me Right Now:

The views from the cottage.

20130903-174359.jpg

20130903-174414.jpg

Also, sweet and helpful words from a CP. Her words have sent my brain into creative thought mode!

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Those Harry Potter cookies — love! I’m glad you had a great weekend getaway, and best of luck incorporating your CP notes. Let me know if you ever want to bounce ideas around. 🙂

  2. Oh, wow! That cottage getaway sounds fantastic! I think sometimes it’s good to set everything aside for a bit, like you did. Sounds perfect, actually. We’re fans of Settlers around here too, but bigger fans of Ticket to Ride. So much fun. Have a great week, Jennie! 🙂

  3. Ohmygosh – I am drooling over those HP cookies! And what great pictures! I am so glad you had such a refreshing weekend!

  4. Sounds (and looks) like you had a wonderful, refreshing getaway, Jennie. I hope you have a great writing week, now that you’re relaxed and full of inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

