Personal Stuff, Random, Reading, The First Drop, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. Check out her blog for all the wonderful writer blogs!

What I’m Reading: I finished Dirty Little Secrets by Jennifer Echols over the weekend – loved it! I finished Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas last night. It’s the third book in the Travises series (Sugar Daddy, Blue-Eyed Devil) and I was so sad the series is over. Until, I found out she’s writing a fourth! WOOT! It’s supposed to be released late in 2014!

What I’m Writing: I’ve been making another round of revisions on The First Drop, and I’m really excited about it! Things are starting to get complicated for my MC and the story is getting deeper. I’m hoping to have these changes done by the end of next week, so I can take a few weeks to do another line-by-line read through before sending it to a few readers.

I went to the library twice in the last week to work. I’ve been lucky to have some great views!

20130925-123112.jpg

20130925-123123.jpg

20130925-123136.jpg

I’ve been reading more romance novels lately and it’s started morphing my next story idea from a YA to a romance novel. Same setting, but completely different plot. The first novel I wrote, NaNo 2010, was an adult fiction story that is hiding in the depths of my computer. I don’t know if switching to writing an adult romance novel is a good thing, but I can’t stop obsessing thinking about this new romance idea.

What Else I’ve Been Up To: It’s been a rough few weeks – sleep deprivation is kicking in, our house hasn’t had any showings, and just general blahs. Trying to move past all that, but the lack of sleep is seriously wearing me down.

What Inspires Me Right Now: The weather. Fall is here and I love it. The windows are open a lot lately and I just love this season so much!

11 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Sleep deprivation is horrible. I’m so sorry 😦
    Would the new romance WIP be adult-adult or maybe NA? NA is a hot category and authors have been very successful at slipping between NA and YA without a problem πŸ™‚
    Either way, I’m excited for you! New story ideas are always great. Good luck with everything. I hope the house showings start to pick up.

    1. Right now, it’s shaping up to be adult-adult, but I haven’t narrowed down the ages definitively yet so it could still change. I’ve been mulling over this story premise for awhile, so I’m glad to be able to get it started. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve wanted to read DIRTY LITTLE SECRETS for a long while — even more so now that I know you loved it! I’m envious of the lovely writing spaces at your library. Our library is nice, but it’s pretty stuffy. I need to find a pretty, out-of-the-house spot to start drafting. Hope you have a great week, Jennie. Best of luck with your revisions!

    1. Oh, Katy. It was that good. You will LOVE it. Country music everywhere. ❀ I'm obsessed with our new library branch, even though it's a bit more out of the way than the more stuffy one down the street. πŸ™‚

  3. Wow – I love the views from your library! That’s such a fun way to show people where you live/write, too. I’ll have to remember that. πŸ™‚

    Even though I write mostly YA, I’m working on a women’s fiction WIP at the moment. It was the same thing for me – the story just wouldn’t leave me alone. It’s certainly different from writing YA, but I’m glad I went with it.

    Have a great week, and good luck with your revisions! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

