Castaway Cove, NaNoWriMo, Personal Stuff, Reading, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. Check out her blog for the scoop!

What I’m Reading – I just finished Star Crossed by Jessica Spotswood last night and OMG. The Ending. OMG. I gave Born Wicked and this one 5 stars each. I’m completely depressed that I have to wait until NEXT AUGUST to read Sisters’ Fate. :::kicks rocks:::

What I’m Writing – I’m slowly plugging away on my NaNoWriMo story. I decided at the last minute to go with the contemporary adult romance novel and I’m having a blast writing all the kissing scenes. I’d hoped to be more ahead in my word count since Sammie’s surgery is later this month, but that’s life, right?

OH. And I also sent out ten queries at the end of last week. I’ve received two standard rejections already, which was slightly depressing, but there’s no choice but to keep moving forward, right?

What Else I’ve Been Up To – I took the kiddos with me to vote in our local election yesterday. I had fun explaining the process and importance to Sammie. Emmett just cried when the election helpers talked to him.

We spent some time exploring in the woods over the weekend, but mostly it’s been rainy so we’ve been inside a lot.

Just this morning Emmett had his 9 month well check up that turned into a sick visit. He has croup and an ear infection. This explains his horrible night last night and the constant crying this morning. Poor kid. Anyone have a caffeine IV drip handy? Because, I’m going to need one ASAP.

What’s Inspiring Me Now:

I went to a NaNoWriMo write in Monday night at the new library near me that I’ve been writing at all summer. The views are gorgeous and the building is fancy and new and bright.

Jennifer Brown was on hand to give us a great pep talk before we started typing.

20131106-122925.jpg

20131106-122938.jpg

We got prizes for word count achievements, and I won this Panera Gift Card. Yay!

20131106-122949.jpg

7 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Gift cards for word count achievement–what a cool incentive!! 🙂 All the best with your NaNo story, Jennie–keep plugging away. 🙂

  2. You’re brave, Jennie! Not just querying but going to the NaNoWriMo write in. I keep meaning to go to one but feel to socially awkward to go alone. It’s cool you won a Panera gift card! Chris Baty the creator of NaNoWriMo will be at the JoCo library on Wednesday Nov. 13 to talk about NaNoWriMo. I think I’ll go to that one if I’m not working.

  3. Oh how I miss Panera Bread. I used to live in my local one when I lived in the US. Such fond memories ^_^

    Best of luck with NaNo and I hope you get some good news from the querying soon 😀 And I really hope your little one is all better soon, too.

  4. Um…wow! Good for you on the Panera gift card, but OMG – I am so jealous you were in the same room as Jennifer Brown! Love her stories!

    Hope you have another great week!

  5. Good luck with your NaNo project! That’s cool that you went to an in-person write-in, and won a gift card! Also cool that Jennifer Brown was there!

    As for querying, it does only take one. I’ve been querying for a while now and has its ups and downs. Whatever happens, keep going!!

Leave a Reply

