Castaway Cove, Personal Stuff, Reading, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday…

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. Check out her blog for the scoop!

What I’m Reading – The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball. And man…this book makes me want to buy some land and create a farm. Like, now. Instead, I shall become even more obsessed with building up our backyard garden. πŸ™‚ We’re planning on buying a green house kit and wood to build more raised beds over the winter. I can hardly stand the excitement!

What I’m Writing – I’m plugging away on my NaNo novel, however, I’ve been a little slack on it. I knew going in, this month was going to be a bit hectic with plenty of days without writing, so it’s no surprise that I’m behind. And I’m okay with that. I pass 17,000 words yesterday, which is more words than I had October 31st, right?

On the querying side of things, I haven’t heard anything new. It’s hard to stay positive, so I’m trying not to think about it much.

What Else I’ve Been Up To – Our wedding anniversary was yesterday. Brett and I have been together for 12 years, married for 9, which basically means we’ve been together more than a third of our lives. Crazy. And cool. πŸ™‚ So, how did we celebrate our anniversary? We had a kid-free dinner at a specialty pizza place (elk sausage…yum!) and bought a new mattress. Yup, a new mattress. We live fancy, huh? πŸ™‚ It was delivered today, which was amazing, and I LOVE IT. Plus, it was on sale and they were running two promotions – free delivery and a free basic mattress set. So, we know have a full size bed set in our basement for guests, and it will be moved to Emmett’s room when he’s ready to convert his crib turned toddler bed into a full.

20131113-124517.jpg
The view when we left for our date night.

What’s Inspiring Me Now – Fall. Our new bed. My crazy kids. Our families. Basically, I’m trying to focus on thinking more positive lately, pushing aside the negative downer stuff that’s in my mind. It works some days. It helps that I love fall in Missouri. It’s so gorgeous and we’re just getting the first of our really chilly days. I’m excited about snow and fun outside in the winter, even though I hate bundling the kids up and being stuck inside more.

11 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. That’s so exciting! 12 years is a long time, but it’s awesome at the same time πŸ™‚
    It can be hard to stay positive about querying, what with all the waiting … and waiting .. and more waiting. It can drive a person crazy, but it’s good you have a new project you’re working on. That’s what keeps me sane while querying Terrifying Tora.
    Is fall in Missouri really gorgeous? Because fall in Kansas is nonexistent. I mean, today is nice, but most days it’s nasty and cold. Which is not so great, because fall is my favorite time of the year.

    1. Some days it feels like we’ve been chained together forever! πŸ˜‰ but most days it’s wonderful.

      Missouri, I think, is amazing. The trees have been gorgeous and watching the farm workers and equipment fill the area makes me smile.

      And, Tora is going to win over an amazing Agent’s heart! I just know it.

  2. I was envious all summer of the goodies from your garden that you posted pics of on Instagram. A greenhouse will be awesome! I think maybe we’ll give gardening a go this summer. We’ll see. 17,000 words on a new project is awesome! That’s more than 1000 words/day this month, which is great! Here’s hoping the words flow and that you get some snow soon! πŸ™‚

  3. Happy Anniversary!

    17,000 words is amazing. Definitely something to be proud of.

    Hope you get some good news with your querying. It’s tough, isn’t it? You just gotta keep on keeping on ^_^

    Have a great week!

  4. Happy anniversary, Jennie! Loved the photos you posted yesterday. Keep going on that NaNo project — you’re nearly halfway done! And best of luck with the querying. It’s so depressing (I did it for years before finding the right agent for me) and it definitely weighed on me. It’s worth it in the end, though. Promise. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

