Castaway Cove, Marina Story, Personal Stuff, Reading, What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday…

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. Check out her blog for the scoop!

What I’m Reading – I finished the first three books in the Whiskey Creek series by Brenda Novak last week, and then started and finished Infinityglass by Myra McEntire yesterday. It was an excellent ending to a great trilogy, but I hated to finish. I get so connected to the characters in a series…I don’t want to let go!

What I’m Writing – Um. About that. Nothing. I gave up on NaNoWriMo for this year. A lot of it has to do with my What Else I’ve Been Up To below. I knew going into this month that NaNo was a lofty dream, one that was most likely not going to be met, so I’m okay with it.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

It started with an urgent care trip at 9pm for Emmett – second round of croup.

And then we were up bright and early the next morning (as in 5am) for Sammie’s surgery. She had tubes put in her ears and the elastic sling connecting her eyelid to her eyebrow tightened. Luckily, they were able to tighten it and didn’t have to replace the entire thing, which would have been a longer and more invasive surgery. (she had that originally done when she was 18 months)

On top of all of that, I ended up with a horrible head cold/congestion. It’s still lingering today, but is much better. Emmett only has a slight cough left from his croup, and Sammie is doing great. Her stitches look great and she isn’t in much pain anymore. The Dr told us Monday at her post-op appointment that it all looked great.

On a more happy note, we’re hosting Thanksgiving for the first time this year. I’m SUPER excited about it! We’re all going to be crammed into our little kitchen/eating area, but I’m busting out real plates and cloth napkins! Brett is actually home this holiday (YAY!) so he’s going to be smoking our turkey on his homemade drum smoker in the backyard. He’s beyond excited, even if the temps are downright freezing.

What’s Inspiring Me Now – The makers of cold medicines. The inventor of Diet Dr. Pepper. 🙂 I spent last week in survival mode, and without either of these, I never would have made it.

With things settling down here, I hope to have an actual writing update next Wednesday, including some goals on finishing this draft. In the meantime, I hope everyone has a fabulous holiday (if you’re celebrating)!

7 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. I totally forgot about Infinityglass. How could I??? I’ll have to put that on my TBR right away, although I think I should read the other two first since I don’t remember them that well.

  2. Oh no, sorry to hear about all the medical troubles! I’m not sure I would have lasted Nano either; I almost gave it up because of another book project I wanted to start editing, so I think it comes down to your priorities, and family needs to come first!

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving 🙂

  3. Your kiddos are so darn cute! Glad they’re both feeling better. Hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Jennie. Best of luck with your hostess duties — I’m sure you’ll do amazingly!

  4. I’m sorry you’ve been dealing with so many medical issues, but glad your kiddos are doing well now. My husband and I are hosting Thanksgiving for the first time this year, too! I also busted out some cloth napkins, hehe. Have a wonderful time!

  5. I hope your daughter continues recovering well from her surgery, and that your son’s croup goes away. My Spanish professor at community college gave us some very good advice about croup, to grab the child or baby, run into the bathroom, and turn the shower on all the way so the steam can get into the croupy lungs and gradually facilitate normal breathing. He said that worked for and saved his oldest son, while a friend of his sadly lost her little girl because she was driving to the doctor instead. Although he was really old, and might not’ve known about any modern medicines you can use in lieu of filling the room with steam.

  6. November has been a tough month, hasn’t it? I’m happy to hear that everyone in your household is on the mend and just in time for Thanksgiving too! Smoked turkey is so, so yummy. I’m very envious. 🙂 Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and a great week, Jennie!

Leave a Reply

