Goals, Personal Stuff, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday…

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. It’s a great way to catch up with writer friends, and meet new ones! Check out her blog for the scoop!

WUW Winter Holly 1

What I’m Reading: I’ve started 2014 off with a bang, reading wise. My first two reads have been 5 stars!

I’m starting this book next, and have seen some rave reviews from friends, so I’m excited!

What I’m Writing: I’ve added a few thousand words to my current WIP over the past few weeks. I’ve kind of hit a scary point though. I’m around 3/4 through my outline already, but only at 26K. I know there is at least 4-5K I need to add in the first chunk as of written and developed a few characters/plots better. But…outside of that??? This is an adult contemporary romance story, but I’ve got a YA novel word count. I’m hoping things fluff up as I keep chugging along. I hope!

What Inspires Me Right Now: As I mentioned in my 2014 goal post earlier this week, I took a step out of my comfort zone and went to an in-person local writing group meeting. It happened to be the first meeting of this group, so it was a casual thing. Perfect meeting to get my feet wet, right? It was small, but the group has real potential, and it’s at my favorite writing location. Best of all…I may have met a new writing buddy. We hit it off and are practically twins on a lot of aspects of our lives. We’re already working on setting up a writing date in the very near future! I felt such a high after leaving the meeting. I’m full of fire and ready to write. 🙂

What Else I’ve Been Up To: I’ve got cabin fever like crazy, you guys. This cold weather. It’s killing me. I know! I know! I live in Missouri, and have my whole life, so I should deal with it. But, gah. Cold weather with young kids is totally different than cold weather without.

We’ve been trying to get creative to keep everyone from going crazy. Last night we brought some snow inside to play with and both kiddos seemed to enjoy it. Emmett just kept trying to figure out what it was.

15 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. Oh, that writing meeting sounds awesome. Have fun with your new writing buddy — I hope she turns out to be a lifelong friend! WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE was one of my favorite contemps of 2013 — love Trish Doller’s books! And THESE BROKEN STARS is next on my list as well. I love its beautiful cover! Best of luck with your WiP this week, Jennie. I’m rooting you on!

  2. I wish there was a local writing group where I live! It was one of the best parts of studying creative writing at university, and I miss it.

    I loved Untold, too. These Broken Stars is on my TBR list!

    Have a great week!

  3. Having a writing buddy is THE BEST! I’m so happy for you to have found a group and a buddy. I have a few writer friends that I get together with but right now our biggest problem is we chat too much and don’t get enough writing done. I need better discipline. I wouldn’t worry about your word count. Seems best to just tell the story as it needs to be told. There are plenty of amazing books out there that are shorter or longer than the traditional word counts for their genre. If this is your biggest problem, you are doing very well! Best to you as you ride the wave of your new energy and motivation.

  4. It’s awesome that you found a writing group and a writing buddy. I wish there were those kinds of opportunities in my area, beyond one group that you have to pay to join and groups that only meet sporadically and in inconvenient locations.

  5. Yay for finding new writing friends. I joined a new in-person writing group a few months ago and have really enjoyed it. Writing is such a solitary activity, it’s important to venture outdoors and talk to other writers from time to time.

  6. I loved UNTOLD and THESE BROKEN STARS. I still need to read WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE, because I’ve heard only great things about it. That’s fantastic that you found a writing group and a potential writing buddy! I’d love to find someone/something like that where I live. I suppose I should probably look a little harder. I hear you on the sick of cold weather thing. I don’t have kids, but I can imagine how taxing it would be to have them constantly cooped up inside. Yikes! Here’s hoping it warms up a bit so you can all head outdoors again. And I have to agree with you on family coming first. Writing is wonderful, but time with family is so important. Have a wonderful week, Jennie!

  7. Writing Group Meetings intimidate the hell out of me! You’re much braver than I. I loved Where The Stars Still Shine and am dying to read These Broken Stars. I actually have Unspoken from the library and have to yet to crack it open. I hate the cold weather too, here’s to hoping it warms up soon!

  8. I haven’t read any of those books but the covers are so beautiful they make me want to!
    It’s been super cold here in Alberta too and I hate it. Surprisingly, my kids bundle up and go outside and play like it’s nothing! Oh to be a kid again.

  9. Sounds like you’ve found a lovely writing group 😀 There’s something so great about being surrounded by your fellow writers.

    Hope it’s a productive week with your WiP.

  10. I’m so glad to hear your in-person writing group went well! It’s great that it’s the first meeting too.

    In regards to your WIP, how long is an adult romance normally supposed to be? I’m sure you’ll figure something out too. When I first wrote Terrifying Tora it was only around 55K when I finished the first draft. Now it’s 73K. Revising helped a lot.

  11. That’s great that you’ve made some local writing friends! It’s always nice to be able to talk to other writers in person. Good luck with your WIP! I wouldn’t worry too much about the word count now. Just finish the draft and during revisions you can flesh it out. When I finished the first draft of my first novel, it was too short too, but revisions fixed that.

    Happy writing (and reading!)

  12. I work with a mix of writers I know in person and who I only know from online. I like the mix. Being face-to-face with another writer and being able to meet up and trade work is really helpful and inspiring. My little group of 4 meets at a library once a month and the discussion of potential plot paths and character development have helped tremendously! Congrats for getting out there. It can be scary.

Leave a Reply

