Castaway Cove, Personal Stuff, Reading, We Still Read, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. It’s a great way to catch up with writer friends, and meet new ones! Check out her blog for the scoop!

WUW Winter Holly 1

What I’m Reading: I had to take my last book to the library before I got started because of the due date. Sob!

So now I’m reading The Cuckoo’s Calling…and have to finish by Friday to avoid a late fee! I’m about 160 pages in, and it’s okayish. I’m liking it, but I’m not really sucked in yet. It’s a long book and Jacki (one of my buddies on We Still Read) loved it, so I’m going to keep plugging away and hope to finish it before Friday night.

What I’m Writing – I’ve been slowly plugging away on the WIP, and am enjoying where it’s going. I’m nearing a scene that I’ve been waiting for since I started outlining this story. A specific dialogue exchange, actually. I can’t wait to actually type it out, to see one of the first ideas I had for these characters come to life.

I planned to get some words down yesterday but both kiddo’s were absolutely insane all day, fighting and boycotting naps. Today seems much calmer here, so I’m hoping to be productive today!

What’s Inspiring Me Now – My CPs! I finished CPing a MS for one of my writer buddies over the weekend and I when I finished I felt so lucky to be trusted with her words and her awesomeness! I think a lot of the fun of writing is in sharing your words, and having other writers share their words with you. My online CP group shares pages monthly, and we’ve had some really great conversations and brainstorming sessions together. It just really lifts me up to know other people enjoy my words, and are willing to help me improve, to deepen the story, and to help me rally through self-doubt. ❤

What Else I’ve Been Up To – the cold. I’m so unbelievably sick of the cold weather. Yes, I know it’s only January, but I’m. Over. It. We’ve been cooped up a lot, so we’ve been doing a lot of arts and crafts time, which I find fun and therapeutic so that’s nice. However, I really want to be running around outside.

Emmett turns ONE in 6 days. SIX DAYS. Hold me, guys, because I’m not ready! His party is this weekend, with his birthday next Tuesday. I’m not sure how much writing I’ll be getting done this weekend and most of next week. It depends on if I can see through my tears. 🙂

9 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. I definitely have to agree with you on the boost that you get from sharing your words with others and receiving good feedback/encouragement/kind words in return. And it’s wonderful to have the privilege of reading others’ words, too. There’s so much to learn that way, I find.

    I’ve said this to a few others today, but I find it so strange that south of the border you all are having such crazy, snowy weather. Up here, north of the 49th, it’s been way more mild than we normally get in January. I really feel for all of you who have been cooped up inside for too long or are having your schedules disrupted by endless snow days. That’s never fun. Here’s hoping this warmer weather makes its way down to you!

  2. I can so relate to the problem of kiddos derailing a day that might have otherwise been productive. It’s hard to find the time! I just looked at your list of projects, and WOW, you have written a lot for being so busy with kiddos and such. Keep it up!!! I cried on my children’s first birthdays too. And first days of preschool. And last day of preschool. And first day of Kindergarten. We’re mid elementary school now and the tears are less frequent, thankfully! Good luck getting through the birthday party! (Waterproof mascara…)

  3. Every time you post pictures of the snow on IG I feel for you. I’m not sure how you midwesterners do it! That said, it looks like you’re keeping your cutie pies busy indoors. I know what you mean to getting to one of those big scenes that shaped the story — the best part of drafting, for me! Hope you have a great week, Jennie, and stay warm!

  4. Happy B-day to your little guy. And I totally agree with what you said about CPs. I love being a part of a community of writers.

    I hope you have a great week! Try not to cry to much at your little guys party.

  5. Happy Birthday to your little one ^_^

    I love it when I’m writing and reach a scene I’ve been looking forward to. It doesn’t happen that often due to my pantsing nature, but when it does, I feel so inspired.

    Have a wonderful week 😀

  6. Good luck with your writing! I love when an anticipated scene is looming. I give you credit for waiting to write it instead of jumping ahead. I imagine you are a linear writer 🙂 I am to a degree.

  7. I’d love to hear how you like The Cuckoo’s Calling. I wasn’t a fan of A Casual Vacancy so I’m wondering how this adult book by J.K.Rowling measures up.
    I’m over the cold too. Done. I need to move to Hawaii.

  8. Aw, thanks for the shout out ❤
    You and the rest of the group inspire me as well! I hope The Cuckoo's Calling picks up. I want to read it, but it is long so… I'm not sure when I'll manage to fit in. Plus the queue for it at the library is huge.

Leave a Reply

