Goals, Personal Stuff, Reading, We Still Read, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. It’s a great way to catch up with writer friends, and meet new ones! Check out her blog for the scoop!

WUW Winter Holly 1

What I’m Reading:

I’m about 3/4 of the way through the Garfield biography, as part of the Presidential Challenge. It’s absolutely fascinating! I finished Sarah Dessen’s latest yesterday, and really enjoyed it.

What I’m Writing – Um, I’m having a bit of a crisis actually. I’ve put away the adult contemporary novel, after deciding that writing romance novels just isn’t what I want to do. So, now I’m back to The First Drop. And, after finishing that Sarah Dessen novel yesterday, I’m floundering. I realized just how flat my plot is in The First Drop, how my secondary characters are cardboard and blah. I want to make my story work, I just don’t know how. I started out writing a story about two friends, but along the way it’s become more about them not being friends than about friendship, and I don’t think I like that.

So, I have to decide what I’m going to do. Am I going to try to get back to my intentions and build the plot and characters up from there? Throw in the towel? Keep moving forward from the story it is now? I don’t know. Insert major floundering here.

What’s Inspiring Me Now – Because of the said troubles writing-wise, my inspiration is on a different thing right now. Over at We Still Read (the blog I’m a collaborator on) we’ve posted today about when we read while having a life with children. Seeing the responses across social media has been amazing. I love seeing all these other moms making time for the written word! Check out the post here.

What Else I’ve Been Up To – Watching my baby turn ONE. We had his party on Sunday, and spent yesterday at the nearby Aquarium and had a pizza party for dinner with my parents and grandparents. Basically, it was an awesome day, full of bittersweet emotions. 🙂

7 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. I hear you on the floundering thing, and for many of the same reasons. Sometimes it’s hard to know whether to fix or to move on to something altogether new. I suppose what we both need is something to rekindle that love we originally had for our story ideas. Here’s hoping that happens!

  2. Aaaw, happy birthday little fella!

    Sorry to hear you’re floundering. Last time I was there I wound up shelving the book and starting something completely new… which turned out to be super exciting 😀 Whatever you do, I’m sure it’ll be the best for you!

    Have a lovely week!

  3. Sweet pictures!

    I tend to have the opposite issue with side characters, in that mind tend to take over and then the main character feels flat and without enough personality. It’s happened with every early draft I’ve done. Developing character sheets has helped a lot. I choose a birthday for them–it may never enter the book, it’s just for you. I look up horoscope definitions and traits, those are a goldmine. I’ve chosen a Meyers-Briggs personality type for characters and have done some short freewriting to get the voice of a character. Like have the character describe their bedroom or their workspace. These bits of advice I’ve heard countless times, but when I actually tried them, I was really impressed by how much more developed the characters came out on the page.

    Good luck with your editing!

  4. Aww, happy birthday to your sweet baby! He’s adorable.

    I hope you are able to figure out how to fix your WIP. If you haven’t already, maybe now’s a good time to get some feedback, if you think it’ll help? Good luck!

  5. Happy B-day to your little guy. Super cute pictures.

    As for the reading and writing. Sarah Dessen is one of my absolute favorite writers. The Moon and More was one of my least favorite of her books (I’d only give it 3.5 stars) but the thing I like best about all her books is the complexity of the minor characters.

    I always strive to create complex minor characters in my own writing. Often times when I’m doing this I even say that I’m channeling my inner Sarah Dessen. Most of that comes out in revisions. Hopefully you have an interesting main character or two in the first draft, and during your rewrites and revisions you can add subplots and turn your cardboard cut out side characters into more interesting people. Don’t give up! Just keep working at it. The fact that you know you still have work to do is an accomplishment in and of itself.

Leave a Reply

