Goals, NaNoWriMo, Personal Stuff, Reading, What's Up Wednesday, Writing, Young Adult

What’s Up Wednesday…

Whatโ€™s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. It’s a great way to catch up with writer friends, and meet new ones! Check out her blog for the scoop!

WUW Winter Holly 1

What I’m Reading: I’ve read a lot this past week!

And I just started this book last night, and I already know I’m going to love it as much as Code Name Verity.

What I’m Writing: Monday I printed out my NaNo 2012 novel for the first time. It’s a YA novel with a magic river and forest, and basically lacks in plot and number of characters. I recently had a dream about this story and it’s sparked some ideas. I met with a CP friend last night and she liked some of the ideas and helped me develop a few more. So, I’m going to work on that in the coming week.

I’ve also got a sci-fi YA idea percolating in my brain that I kind of already love.

What Inspires Me: My local library system is hosting their first adult reading challenge! From Jan 15 through March 15 if you read 5 books you get this spiffy mug. I don’t even drink coffee out of mugs, but I had to get my prize anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really hope they continue this challenge in the coming years, because I think there needs to be a push to have adults read more.

20140212-092343.jpg

What Else Is Going On: More snow last week. My eyes are in constant pain from how bright the snow is! It’s pretty…but I’m ready for spring!

20140212-092333.jpg

Sammie and I took a trip to our B&N so I could pick up my copy of ALIENATED! She had so much fun, and came home with two My Little Pony books. ๐Ÿ™‚

9 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. I own Rose Under Fire but haven’t gotten to it yet (ahh…so many books). I have been reading through romance authors to familiarize with the genre (joined RWA a little under 2 yrs ago). I haven’t read Stannon Stacey yet but I’m pretty sure I have at least one of hers tagged to read on Goodreads. Is she similar to say Jill Shalvis or Candis Terry? I like both of their contemporaries. Though Kristan Higgins is probably my favorite for contemp. romance.

  2. Honestly, I think one of the best things ever when you’re writing is to have someone just to talk through it all with. Sometimes that act of even just thinking out loud with someone else there listening helps me resolve SO many writing issues. I’m happy you have someone who can do that for you too! Also very cool that you’ve come up with an idea for a YA sci-fi.

    I need to get my hands on a copy of ALIENATED. It’s been on my TBR list for a while now.

  3. Hiya

    Oh I am hanging out to read Alienated. It looks and sounds so good. It’s been on my TBR list for a while now too. I must get to reading it.

    And I also agree, having someone talk through it all is a god send. It helps so much.

    Have a great week.

    Angel

  4. It sounds like you have so many awesome ideas, Jennie! Can’t wait to read some of them! (Maybe during out next submissions?) And we need to get together at some point. I just realized I still have two signed books for you.

  5. I’d love for more libraries to encourage adults to read like that. The summer before fourth grade, I won first place in a reading contest held by a local library, for reading the most books or pages. My parents made me choose the $200 scholarship money over the alternate prize of a bike. At the time, some of the kids who knew me couldn’t believe I chose the money over the bike.

  6. If I’m stuck with a story idea, I’ll sometime go to bed thinking about it, hoping my mind will run with it and dream up something awesome. Sometimes it happens… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Awww! Sammie looks totally adorable in those pictures. You might have to wait your turn to read ALIENATED, Jennie! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

