Goals, Personal Stuff, Reading, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. It’s a great way to catch up with writer friends, and meet new ones! Check out her blog for the scoop!

WUW Winter Holly 1

What I’m Reading: It’s been a few weeks since I last participated in WUW, so I’m just going to list the books I’ve read in the past few days. February was a pretty stellar reading month for me, and March is going right along that same trend! So far, I’ve read 23 books this year.

Last night I finished Gulp by Mary Roach. It was gross, and hilarious, and fascinating. Seriously good stuff.

During naptime on Tuesday I started and finished the e-novella Night of Cake & Puppets by Laini Taylor. I’m now all a flutter at how much I want Gods and Monsters NOW.

What I’m Writing: I blogged yesterday about how I am joining the YA Buccaneers Spring Boot Camp. I’m completely excited to get a kick in the pants to keep pushing myself on this rewrite/revision process.

I’m working on writing the new stuff and adding in C&P stuff from the existing draft right now, but in the coming days I’ll be in pure drafting mode again. Exciting stuff!

What Inspires Me: The fabulous ladies at the YAB blog. I’m really looking forward to the accountability teams and meeting new writers.

Also, I went to the second meeting (technically it’s the third, but due to schedule obligations I couldn’t make the second one) of the new local writing group at my library. I’m really excited about this group, and the monthly talk about writing and goal setting and such.

What Else Is Going On: March is a busy month for us, family wise. My birthday is next week, my husband’s the week after, and then Kindergarten round up for Sammie is at the end of the month. Through in a handful of doctor appointments, and hopefully, actual spring weather so we can get to work expanding our garden!

I think I’m going to hop on Katy’s bandwagon and do a list of things I want to accomplish before I turn 35 in a few years. I’ve been mentally working on this list so I can hopefully blog it on my birthday next week.

Guys, I can’t tell you how conflicted I feel about her starting school in August. I’m excited, terrified, thrilled, sad, you name it! Parenthood = a constant stream of conflicting emotions.

7 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. First, Sammie will do awesome in Kindergarten. I had the same fears/anxiety before C started, but she did great, and I had tons of free time. Win-win. 🙂 When you start to see how much she’s learning and growing in such a short span of time, you will be amazed. Also, yay for Thirty Before 35. Can’t wait to see your list!

  2. Good luck with your writing goals for the boot camp. And having a local writing group sounds really amazing, too 😀

    Have a wonderful birthday! Hope it’s a great week.

  3. Ughh I can’t even imagine sending a child to school. I’m still recovering from going to school myself. Nice job reading all those books in only two months! That’s excellent! Best wishes for Boot Camp, and happy birthday next week. 😀

  4. It feels like forever since DAYS OF BLOOD & STARLIGHT came out. I really hope I remember everything that happened by the time Book 3 is released! I haven’t read the e-novella yet, so maybe I should. That writing group you mention sounds great. It’s nice to have other writers in real life to talk to about writing. I’m really hoping some nice weather rolls in soon here as well. As I’m typing this, itty bitty snowflakes are falling so…no such luck. Soon I hope! Have a great week, Jennie!

  5. That book camp sounds awesome. I got so much done during #WriterRecharge, which was an accountability group. It helps so much to have other people working at the same time—and to have people expecting you to write or revise. Good luck meeting your goals! You can do it!!

  6. I won’t be doing the YAB Boot Camp, but if the Writer Recharge challenge from last month is anything to go by, I’m sure it’ll be a huge success. Expect to get a lot done, Jennie! 🙂

    It’s my birthday this month too–so happy birthday to all of us! 😀

Leave a Reply

