Goals, Personal Stuff, Reading, What's Up Wednesday, Writing

What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is hosted by Jaime Morrow. It’s a great way to catch up with writer friends, and meet new ones! Check out her blog for the scoop!

WUW Winter Holly 1

What I’m Reading: I just finished this last night. It was great! I haven’t read many historical fiction novels that tie into the Civil War AND politics. It was like reading one of my presidential biographies mixed with an awesome story and characters.

I started this last night before bed and so far it’s super cute!

What I’m Writing: I’ve been plugging away on the rewrite for The First Drop. I’m hoping to start and finish chapter ten today. I’ve been making good progress (by my standards) so I’m feeling pretty good! Also, I’ve got a new idea whirling around in my head. It’s still pretty basic, and without a lot of actual plot stuff, but I’m letting it grow in my mind. Hopefully it will become the thing I write after TFD is done. πŸ™‚

What Inspires Me: This quiz from YA Highway on the type of writing retreat that’s best for you. I got a beach retreat. I am seriously looking into doing a writing retreat either this year or next year. I think it would be a fun way to get a ton of words down without the normal daily life to-dos and also have some fun time with writing friends. Now I just need to get busy planning it I guess!

What Else Is Going On: SPRING IS COMING! We’ve had some good weather this week, so we’ve been outside soaking it up A LOT. I’m working on my 30 before 35 list that I’m going to start this Friday on my 31st birthday.

1902919_10201908426294663_1938093570_n

13 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. I really loved THE PROMISE OF AMAZING. Ha, I took the quiz and got Solo Retreat in the Woods. I love the woods part of it (as long as there’s a lake nearby) but not the solo part. I need people!

    You’ve inspired me to start planning that MN Northwoods Retreat for this summer. Make it happen, right?

  2. Hello, Jennie. First, a song: Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday to you!! Happy Birthday dear Jennieee!!! Happy Birthday to youuu!!!! πŸ™‚

    Spring is inspiring me right now too. It’s only a week away!! I’ll have to check out that fun quiz. Good luck on your rewrites!

    Hope you have a wonderful birthday!

    Happy reading and writing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  3. I’m so happy that spring is finally on its way!

    I’ve been on a couple of writing retreats and they are so much fun. I hope you can plan to go on one soon!

    Good luck with your rewrite this week. πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t want to forget Friday, so I’ll say it now: Happy Birthday, Jennie! Hope it’s a good one. I’m happy for you that spring has rolled in. I know it’s been hard having cooped up kids throughout this winter. I’m feeling much the same way. So I did that YA HIghway quiz and came up with Amtrak residency. Hmm…not what I had in mind. Have a great week, Jennie!

  5. I’ve actually got one of Ms. Chiaverini’s books out of the library now, Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker. I love the Civil War, and I was seriously, seriously obsessed with the Lincoln family when I was a lot younger.

    1. I’m going to check out that book soon since I enjoyed this one so much. I’m very much obsessed with John Adams and his whole family, so I respect your Lincoln obsession. πŸ™‚

  6. You deserve a writer’s retreat! A beach one would be particularly nice πŸ™‚
    I got the Amtrak Residency when I took the quiz, which I’d never do. It seems awesome, but they have this weird clause in their term where they have the right to the material you submit to them in order to get the Amtrak Residency. Not. Happening.

Leave a Reply

