30-before-35, Goals, Personal Stuff, Reading, Writing

30 before 35

imagesToday’s my 31st birthday, and I’m starting it out by being a copy-cat. Katy Upperman recently blogged about her own 30 before 35 plans and I love lists (both making and crossing things off) so I decided to do it too!

Some of these items aren’t necessarily within my powers to make happen, but I’m putting out positive thoughts hoping to get positive returns. πŸ™‚ A handful of these things are on my life bucket list, but I haven’t made that list a priority lately. I thought this would be a good way to start doing some of the things I want to do in my lifetime.

My 30 Before 35 List:

1. Get an agent
2. Sell at least one book
3. Dye my hair with a crazy color
4. Get a passport
5. Use that passport
6. Go to a writing retreat
7. Go to a writing conference
8. Learn to knit or crochet
9. Get my Owned-But-Not-Read pile to ZERO (It’s between 200-300 right now, so this is a big deal!)
10. Go camping
11. Take a painting class (I’ve wanted to do this for years)
12. Attend a country music concert (I used to go to country concerts in high school/college, I miss them)
13. Take my kiddos to an ocean
14. Complete the presidential challenge
15. Watch the entire Friday Night Lights series (in the middle of season 2 right now)
16. Visit two new states
17. Rewatch the Veronica Mars series
18. Grow something new in our backyard garden every year
19. Read 100 books in one calendar year
20. Photograph a sunrise and a sunset in the same day
21. Switch all our plastic kitchen storage containers for glass
22. Go without pop or coffee for seven days in a row
23. Run in a 5K race
24. Master Scrivener so I feel as comfortable with it as Word
25. Try out a hot yoga class
26. Visit two presidential libraries
27. Sew each kid something special and personalized
28. Print out our private family blog into yearly books
29. Write a MS from a male-POV
30. Take the kids on a plane

5 thoughts on “30 before 35”

  1. 100 books in one year?? I’ve been reading more lately and I love it. Reading 10 books in a year is already an accomplishment! Nice list!

  2. That’s a great list – good luck! I love so many of those, I can’t even comment. But I will say this: #29 – it’s awesome. I loved writing male POV.

    I might have to do this too, although 30 and 35 are loooong in the past.

  3. Happy birthday, Jennie! I have a recommendation for goal #3: call Kassey (pronounce it “Casey”), tell her I recommended you and you want some color like she used to do for me. She’s a goddes of hair. She’s in north KC, at 204 E 18th Ave
    North Kansas Cityβ€Ž MOβ€Ž 64116. Phone is (816) 842-4332.

  4. Love all of these goals, Jennie! You know how I feel about FNL, so I fully support that goal. πŸ™‚ And Scrivener is awesome! Totally changed the way I write. I bet you’ll love it once you get used to it. There are some awesome tutorials on YouTube that helped me tons. Best of luck with these goals… I look forward to following along with your progress!

Leave a Reply

