Writing

My Writing Process

Since I’m still in the research phase of my SNI and waiting for CP notes back on TFD, I’m not boring you guys with a lame What’s Up Wednesday post today. Instead, I’m going to participate in another blog hop sort of thing. Sara Biren tagged me in this blog tour, and I’m glad she did! Check out her writing process post for info on her procasti-pantser method of writing!

1)    What am I working on?

Right now I’m a little in between projects. My Contemporary YA, THE FIRST DROP, is out with CPs and beta readers at the moment, and I’m just beginning to start a new MS.

TFD is the story of Olive, who begins her summer with high hopes, but all of her big plans fall apart all around her. When Milo swoops in with his high-octane life, taking her on all sorts of fun, but slightly crazy, stunts, she realizes her summer might night be sucky after all. But, as Milo’s behavior moves from risky to straight-up reckless, Olive must find a way to make him stop before he’s as damaged on the outside as he’s hurt on the inside.

The idea I’m currently researching is a bit darker than TFD, but set in a beautiful place (which is real, and why the research is a bit daunting) and I’m getting pretty excited about it.

I’ve dabbled in adult romance, and a YA novel about witches, but I’ve since realized that my writing keys are firmly planted in Contemporary YA.
2)     How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’d like to think that I add in a Midwestern flair to the YA genre. I love reading about summers on the beach, and life in the big cities, but I haven’t found that many novels written about small towns in the middle of the country.

3)     Why do I write what I do?

I love writing YA because it’s a time of freedom and exploration. All without the pesky responsibilities like paying the mortgage and mowing the lawn. I write YA because I read YA, because I love it enough to get lost again and again into world after world, character after character.
4)     How does your writing process work?

My writing process is possibly the most disorganized thing in my life. I’m an organizational freak. I love spreadsheets with their tiny boxes and to-do lists and hate clutter. So, my house is generally clean (just don’t get you a white glove!) and my inbox is sorted by date and category. The dishes rarely hang out in the sink for long. When I was still working, my desk always neat and tidy. I just can’t stand paper and clutter.

So, you’d think I’d have my writing process in a streamlined pattern, but nope! When I’m trying to decide on a story idea to develop I open a Word doc and start typing. And when I hit a hurdle or the idea isn’t working or something else shiny comes along in my mind, I close the doc. I have A LOT of these word docs on my MacBook. Some are only a few lines long, some include outlines and detailed character descriptions.

After I decide on an idea I expand on that Word Doc with an outline and then character sketches. I’ve recently started creating a query letter before I start drafting, it seems to help identify the hook and if I need higher stakes/more drama. Once the outline is good, I start the actual drafting.

I’m a SAHM of two, so I write during naptime and after the kids are asleep in the evening. My husband works a crazy weird schedule, so sometimes I’m able to sneak away from the house to the library for a few hours. I love those breaks and find I get a lot of writing done there. It helps that my library is gorgeous and I always grab a table near the back along the wall of HUGE windows overlooking a treeline.

That’s the basics of my writing process. It isn’t pretty, but it works. 🙂

Next week, check out Kim Graff who sums up her writing with these three words: creepy, weird and whimsical. And, having read more than one MS of hers I can confirm that those words ring true!

1 thought on “My Writing Process”

  1. THE FIRST DROP sounds really great! Totally up my alley. I also love reading, and writing, contemporary YA the best.

    It’s so interesting to read everyone’s writing process. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

