Personal Stuff, To Be Wild and Free, Writing, YAC Spring Writing Boot Camp

Belated YA Buccaneers Boot Camp Update

So…I’ve been a little MIA in the boot camp posting and in the writing arena of my life lately. Mom Life has taken a front seat lately. Birthdays, zoo trips, Dr appointments, a toddler with a head cold who doesn’t sleep well, planting and growing our backyard garden, our living room renovation project, just general life with two kids stuff, and planning for an eight-hour-one-way road trip that we leave for in less than two weeks. (Yes, send me all the ear plugs, I’ll need them!)

Basically, the warm weather means we’re busy doing stuff and soaking up that sunshine.

I have had some progress on the writing front. I finished polishing my query and synopsis for The First Drop. YAY! I’ve had it CP’d, too. I’ve gotten some beta reader comments back, which had some amazing thoughts and sweet comments. 🙂

And, I’ve started plotting the next MS, currently titled: TO BE WILD AND FREE.

I actually came up with a title pretty early, which is really surprising for me. I’m in the part of plotting where everything is scary and exciting…and you desperately want to write all the scenes you’re excited about even though you’re so far from actually being able to draft.

Here’s a screen cap of my secret Pinterest board. I’m a little bit in love with this idea and these two characters!

photo

My goals for the rest of May are to get the plotting and character development done by month end. I want to start drafting in June!

And, I made it through the first round on The Writer’s Voice. SO…check out this post to find out more about THE FIRST DROP! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Belated YA Buccaneers Boot Camp Update”

  1. Congrats on making ti through the first round!

    I hear you on life getting in the way of writing. My home improvement projects during April threw me out of the zone and it’s been a struggle to get back on the wagon. Getting there but it’s taking longer than I want.

    Good luck with your goals!

  2. Don’t feel bad about taking more time to spend with your family. That’s really important! Congrats on finishing your query and synopsis for THE FIRST DROP – I really enjoyed your entry for The Writer’s Voice! Have fun plotting and planning your new WIP this week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

