SNI, The First Drop, To Be Wild and Free, YAC Spring Writing Boot Camp

Last YAB Spring Boot Camp Update

Well, writer friends…I haven’t updated in a long while because things writing wise haven’t been swell. Or happening much at all. Life has been insane this past month or so, but that’s only part of the issue.

See, I finished The First Drop and it’s done now, just tweaks here and there as I reread it, but otherwise. DONE. And, I’ve been floundering since. I was plotting this contemp YA, but I’ve been feeling a little, I don’t know…like maybe I’m not “good enough” to stand out in the sea of contemp YA novels. Figuring out new plot ideas is always hard for me, but contemp is even harder, despite that I love writing it.

I have danced between this contemp YA story and a sci-fi idea for weeks. Every time I sit down to write I end up frittering my time away…working a little on both, but not really moving forward. And that’s where I am now, just back-and-forth, trying to figure out what the heck I want out of my writing life. I’m so twisted and frustrated and lost and just floundering.

I wish I had a better update for the end of the YA Buccaneers Spring Boot Camp, but I do really appreciate the awesome support this boot camp brought me.

team-mountaineers

3 thoughts on “Last YAB Spring Boot Camp Update”

  1. New ideas are tough; I struggled through some plot issues in my WIP (also a YA contemporary). I’m not sure the plot issues are gone actually, but I know I had to finish my first draft to figure them out. Actually it was more like the second draft… what’s helped me a lot is to go through a book in the same genre that you’ve read and love and dissect the plot. It will be the best few hours you can spend to see what other authors do. I found a lot of my faves are surprisingly simple with not as many subplots (for YA). That was an eye opener.

    Good luck!

  2. I’m so sorry you’re feeling this way – I’ve felt similarly when brainstorming YA contemp ideas, since it’s such a tough market and you really have to stand out. That’s why it took so long for me to finish my second manuscript, because I kept doubting my premise. I have to say pushing forward and finishing it helped me feel better about the idea. I decided in the end not to worry so much about whether it was good enough, and just draft the story I wanted to write. I’m really happy with how it came out and hopefully it’ll go somewhere. If you need some time to figure out what that next story you love is, take it! Just don’t feel bad. You made so much progress during the bootcamp – you should feel proud! 🙂

Leave a Reply

