CampNaNoWriMo, To Be Wild and Free, What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday…

Check out Jaime Morrow and Erin’s blogs for more details, but basically What’s Up Wednesday is a fun weekly post to share writerly goings on. Check it out and join in!

What I’m Reading: Last night I finished Frozen by Erin Bowman, which was even better than Taken! Before that, I read What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Guys, if there is a book that sums up (aside from ANNA and LOLA) how much and why I love contemporary YA so much…WITWT is that book. It was everything I wanted it to be and so much more.

What I’m Writing: Since my last writing update for the YA Buccaneers boot camp, I’ve been trying to sort out some things. Trying to figure out how to navigate the emotional aspects of trying to get published, you know…the crippling self-doubt which amps up my already there anxiety issues.

And then, I read What I Thought Was True, and like I mentioned above, it was amazing. I was twenty pages in and suddenly things made sense again. I could feel the summer sunshine and swoony romance fill me up, reminding me how much I love to write, and read, these types of stories.

I’m still struggling with the self-doubt and anxiety stuff (as I am always in some level) but FINALLY feeling that I know where I want to go next, what story I want to create next, is such a wonderful relief. So, I put a few books on hold, having to do with this place:

photo 2(2)

I haven’t even picked up the books yet, but I already want to throw my family in the car for a long road trip out there. But, seventeen hours one way in the car with two kids 5 and under….yeah, so not happening. πŸ™‚

I’m hoping to finish plotting this week or so, so I can start drafting and hopefully finish the first draft by the end of July, with the help of Camp NaNo.

What Else is Going On: Our living room renovation has been slowly plugging along, but one of the biggest steps is now done. I present the before:

20140326-085624.jpg

 

And now, with WINDOWS! It’s a horrible photo, at night even, but it’s the most amazing thing ever. The light that streams through during the day is just perfect. My revised goal is to have this whole room done by the end of June. πŸ™‚

photo(1)

 

Our garden is growing, and it’s gotten sticky hot outside already. It was horrible yesterday, but the kiddos had too much energy, so I sat outside trying not to melt while they played in the backyard.

photo 3(2)

What’s Inspiring Me Now: MY FRIEND JESSICA LOVE’S BOOK IS OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m not sure there is anything more awesome and inspiring than seeing a friend’s dreams come true! My B&N doesn’t have PUSH GIRL in stock yet, but I’m going to snatch up my copy as soon as it does.

Also, Ready. Set. WRITE.

Check out Katy Upperman’s blog post for the scoop.

I didn’t join in last year, but I’m absolutely jumping on the bandwagon this year. This is the perfect thing to join in with my Camp NaNo plans for this new WIP!

5 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday…”

  1. I’m so happy you’re joining us for RSW! Can’t wait to get going on it. πŸ™‚ I hear you on the self-doubt and anxiety thing. I’m so there with you. It’s wonderful when something comes along and alleviates that in some small way. In this case, WHAT I THOUGHT WAS TRUE. I actually have a copy of this book on hold at the library and now I’m going to RUN down there and pick it up because I need some inspiration. Love the new windows, by the way! Hope you’re having a wonderful week, Jennie!

  2. I totally understand the self-doubt. I’m so glad to hear that you’ve push past it and are excited about your WIP! I’ll be joining Ready. Set. WRITE! so I’ll cheer you on as you finish your first draft.

    I really want to read WHAT I THOUGHT WAS TRUE! It sounds like something I’d love.

    Your living room looks great so far! I hope to get more done around our house this summer. It’s always fun to see everything come together. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

