The First Drop, To Be Wild and Free, What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday & RSW Week 1

Check out Jaime Morrow and Erin’s blogs for more details, but basically What’s Up Wednesday is a fun weekly post to share writerly goings on. Check it out and join in!

What I’m Reading – I started and finished Emery Lord’s OPEN ROAD SUMMER last week. IT WAS AMAZING. I loved every single word on every single page. And finished it with that happy sigh feeling. Last night I picked up THE INVENTOR’S SECRET by Andrea Cremer. It’s absolutely a genre I don’t read much at all, but the flap sounds interesting so I got it at the library.

What I’m Writing: Ummm…nothing. I did do some writing related things with The First Drop, so I wasn’t a total slacker. πŸ™‚

What Else is Going On: My oldest started k2k, which is a two-week summer school for incoming Kindergarteners to help ease the adjustment of the new place, and also for assessments and such. Let’s just say the first morning was…heartbreaking. Tears everywhere. BUT, she had a great day, so that has helped the rest of this week. She’s been at her current daycare/Pre-K since she was 16 months, and because it’s in a different school district than where we live, she only knows one other classmate. But, she’s loving the library (duh, my kid!) and recess. πŸ™‚

We’ve been plugging away on the living room renovation. Slowly but surely!

What’s Inspiring Me Now: Everyone’s goals for Ready. Set. Write!

Check out Katy Upperman’s blog post for the scoop.

Speaking of, here are my goals for the next week:

1) Decide which story idea to focus on

2) Get started on said story

My summer goals:

1) Draft story

2) Continue reading

3) Get back into the habit of writing at the library

7 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday & RSW Week 1”

  1. I like your goals. I just finished my last project and I haven’t participated in Ready Set Write because I’m not working on anything. But planning what to write is still a plan (duh).

  2. I just did a library search for OPEN ROAD SUMMER and none of the libraries in central Alberta have it. What?! I might have to buy it then. Darn. πŸ˜‰ Happy to hear that the rest of the week went well for your little girl. And it’s pretty great that she’s digging the library. Parenting: you’re doing it right. πŸ˜€

  3. Hmm, I just searched Inventor’s Secret really quick and it does sound interesting! Even though I’m normally not a fan of steampunk, I might possibly add to my TBR as well…Aw, it’s so hard when the little ones start growing up! (they’re supposed to stay babies and cute and cuddly forever, right?) But I hope that both of you settle in quickly, and you come to enjoy the new time to yourself πŸ™‚ Good luck on renovations, your goals, and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

