Ready. Set. Write., To Be Wild and Free

RSW: Update 2

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at in our writing—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing. This year, your RSW hosts are Alison Miller, Jaime Morrow, Erin Funk, and myself. If you’ve yet to officially join, there’s still time! Find the details HERE.

* How I did on last week’s goal(s).

Last weeks goals:

1) To add 2,500 words to my WIP

2) Take a trip to the library for writing time.

I actually wrote almost 5K in the last week and did take that trip to the library! So…SUCCESS! 🙂

* My goal(s) for this week.

1) Add at least another 3,000 words to my WIP.

2) Finish two of the books I have checked out from the library.

* A favorite line from my project OR a word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

The characters began to unfold as I wrote this week, and I just love that. So, my word would be discovery.

* The biggest challenge I faced this week.

My own head. I’m writing about a real place, one that I haven’t been in over 20 years and even that was a short trip. So…I feel like I’m writing blind, but desperately want to get it all perfect.

But, first drafts aren’t perfect…or even pretty, are they?

* Something I love about my WiP.

That it’s set in somewhere beautiful, that it’s a place with nature and amazing views and wildlife.

5 thoughts on “RSW: Update 2”

  1. How cool that you have a real and beautiful setting. AND that you accomplished all your goals last week! GO YOU!

    Hope you have another excellent week!

  2. What to go with your goals this week, Jennie! First drafts *aren’t* supposed to be pretty, which is something I am CONSTANTLY reminding myself. I just want the words to be perfect the first time around! Best of luck this week, lady!

  3. Nicely done on doubling your word count goal! I love that you discovered a lot about your characters this week. That’s when all the hard work really starts to feel like it’s paying off. Good luck with your latest goals!

  4. Yay for surpassing goals! You did awesome this week. I wish you tons of success this week, too… and I couldn’t help but notice ‘OY, with the poodles already!’ on your sidebar. Love it so so so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

