CampNaNoWriMo, Goals, Ready. Set. Write., To Be Wild and Free

RSW: Update Week 4

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at in our writing—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing. This year, your RSW hosts are Alison Miller, Jaime Morrow, Erin Funk, and myself. If you’ve yet to officially join, there’s still time! Find the details HERE.

* How I did on last week’s goal(s).

You might have noticed I didn’t blog last week. That’s because I’ve been writing like a crazy person. The story has grabbed me and won’t let me go! 🙂 I just crossed over 30k last night…so there’s that. Since mid-June when I started this draft, I’ve written 30k!

* My goal(s) for this week.

1) Add at least 8k to my WIP.

2) Finish at least one library book.

* A favorite line from my project OR a word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

A quote from one of the secondary characters, Maria to the main character, Hannah: “I know he did, but I think you need to know for sure. Then if we’re sure he’s a total ass, we ignore him. Or steal his sleeping bag.”

* The biggest challenge I faced this week.

Not enough time. I’ve hit that stride where I want to write ALL THE TIME. And, life just gets in the way. These kids seem to eat a hundred times a day and they want me to interact with them. 😉

* Something I love about my WiP.

For the first time I’m writing about wounded characters who are falling for each other, but also lost in their own ways. It’s sad and hopeful to watch them start and stop, learn and grow.

15 thoughts on “RSW: Update Week 4”

  1. I know how hard it is to balance mom-me and writer-me. Sounds like you are on the roll! That’s fantastic! 8k in the next week? Impressive, but seeing as you’ve written 30k in one month, I’d say that’s completely doable. 🙂

  2. Wow! You’re totally kicking this story’s butt, Jennie! And how awesome that you find yourself wanting to write all the time. That’s so much better than dreading it lol. (Which is where I lived for WAY too long.) I love the line you shared too. Makes me wonder what the scenario is here, which is good! Here’s to another productive week! 😀

  3. So glad to hear your story has grabbed hold of you! It’s awesome when inspiration and motivation hit like that. Hope you can find lots and lots of writing time this week!

  4. Omg – I LOVE that feeling of wanting to write ALL THE TIME. And 30K? GO YOU!!! So inspiring!

    Hope you have another wonderful writing week!

  5. Awesome on 30K! And love the excerpt, too funny. And oh, those childrens, such demanding little buggers. 😉 Best of luck this week!

Leave a Reply

