CampNaNoWriMo, Ready. Set. Write., To Be Wild and Free

RSW: Update 5

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at in our writing—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing. This year, your RSW hosts are Alison Miller, Jaime Morrow, Erin Funk, and myself. If you’ve yet to officially join, there’s still time! Find the details HERE.

* How I did on last week’s goal(s).

1) Add at least 8k to my WIP. – MORE THAN SUCCESS! I ended up adding 15,000 words to my WIP during this week!

2) Finish at least one library book. MORE THAN SUCCESS! I finished Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson and Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris.

* My goal(s) for this week.

1) Add another 15k to my WIP. My big goal is to finish before the end of July!

2) Finish at least two library books. (I have a HUGE stack of books checked out…that hold button is SO easy to push!)

3) Have a mini-writing session in public somewhere.

* A favorite line from my project OR a word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

Hannah, the MC mentions the wheelchair ramp is unsafe, and Ashley the adult team leader who’s in charge of the teens during this summer work camp puts the task on Hannah’s shoulders:

I stand, mouth agape until the synapsis in my brain start firing again. “Ashley, wait! I need some direction and help.”

She turns her upper body, a little dust catching the breeze, and says, “Get me a supply list tomorrow and I can have everything here within 24 hours.”

She’s so nonchalant about this, meanwhile the panic is building in my chest. “But, I’ve never built a ramp on my own before.”

A smile spreads across her face. “And before today you’d never built a fence. And before this week you’d never built a campfire.”

Blake shouts, “Or shit in the woods.”

I whip my head around, waving my brush at him. “Do you always have to be gross?”

He grins, an obnoxious-but-endearing smile that’s infectious. “Pretty much. And, don’t sweat this. We’ll help. Won’t we, man?”

He elbows Alex, who drops his brush in the process, flinging stain across his shorts and legs. His shoulders sag as he surveys the damage before grabbing the brush off the ground and dipping it back into the can at his feet. “Sure thing.”

* The biggest challenge I faced this week.

Really wanting to write the ending few chapters…it’s pushing me to keep going through the MIDDLE but it’s also slightly distracting!

* Something I love about my WiP.

Is it corny to say everything? I know it’s a first draft and has all the first draft errors and crap, but I love these characters and this story! 🙂

3 thoughts on “RSW: Update 5”

  1. Totally not corny to say everything! That’s the best feeling. 🙂 I write scenes all over the place in my WiP, but having those final chapters as an incentive to actually reach them is a great idea. Maybe I should try that sometime. I enjoyed reading your excerpt, Jennie! And I can’t believe you wrote 15K this week! That’s so impressive! Here’s to an equally productive week! 🙂

  2. OH MY GOSH!!! You are rocking this WiP, Jennie! So happy for you and your word count! Go YOU! Also, I am LOVING Morgan Matson’s new one. I’m half way through and don’t want to stop reading! So good. And I loved your snippet! Especially Blake’s line. Ha!

    Good luck this week!

Leave a Reply

