CampNaNoWriMo, Goals, Ready. Set. Write., To Be Wild and Free

FIRST DRAFT: DONE (AKA: RSW Update 6)

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at in our writing—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing. This year, your RSW hosts are Alison Miller, Jaime Morrow, Erin Funk, and myself. If you’ve yet to officially join, there’s still time! Find the details HERE.

* How I did on last week’s goal(s).

I didn’t have an update last week because I was typing like a madwoman, and it was totally worth it. Because on Friday I COMPLETED THE FIRST DRAFT! 67k in under 6 weeks!

20140727-195904-71944608.jpg
FIRST DRAFT IS DONE! WOOP!

* My goal(s) for this week.

1) Bask in the glory of finishing!

2) Get organized on my revision To Do list.

3. Knock of two small things on that list.

 

* A favorite line from my project OR a word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

You can see it in the photo above, but the last line of this story seems so perfect to me. It ties into the title (TO BE WILD & FREE) and references the stunning setting, The Grand Teton National Park. And it describes Hannah and Ryan at the end of their journey, the growing they’ve done, and the strength they’ve discovered in each other.

This place is wild and free, and so are we.

 

* The biggest challenge I faced this week.

I wanted SO badly to be done with the first draft that I struggled with actually writing the last 6k. It was like the last half a semester in college…you’re just SO done with the homework and studying, but you still have to do it to finish!

* Something I love about my WiP.

I wrote this entire draft in just under 6 weeks, and even though it’s a hot mess big time, I love it. This has been the most research heavy MS I’ve written yet (and I still have more to do to strengthen the story) and I hated it and loved it.

But right now the thing I love most about this story is that the first draft is DONE. Now to get out my red pen and sticky tabs. 🙂

5 thoughts on “FIRST DRAFT: DONE (AKA: RSW Update 6)”

  1. Congrats on finishing up your first draft, Jennie! 😀 What a great feeling! I’m so impressed that you did it in 6 weeks too, especially considering there was research involved. Love the line you shared as well, and that it ties into your WiP’s title. Good luck as you settle in to revisions!

  2. I am SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!! Yay!!!!! And I love that last line! Relax and celebrate, friend. You’ve earned it!

Leave a Reply

