NaNoWriMo, Writing, Young Adult

It’s Almost NaNoWriMo Time!

I wasn’t going to do NaNo…and then I was. And then I wasn’t. And then I was.

I am a SUCKER for NaNo. The crazy frenzy, the local events, the support of other writers. BUT, November is bananas this year. We’re taking a long weekend vacation, just my hubby and I, for our 10th wedding anniversary, plus my oldest will be out of school for three days for Thanksgiving.

Also, I had no plot idea. My mind was this empty cavern, echoes of my tears filling the void. Until I decided to do a little free writing. I sat down with a Word doc and Pinterest and just word vomited all over it.

And then I stepped back and kinda liked the few pages I’d written. I sent it to two CPs, and they both said I HAD TO WRITE IT. But then I got scared.

I have no idea what happens next!

I don’t even know my MC’s name. She’s just SHE so far.

I don’t write books with blood and daggers and cloaks and darkness.

And then I decided to do something CRAZY. And completely unlike me.

I’m going to do NaNo with this story. I don’t have a plot, but I’m going to get her a name and come November 1st I’m going to start writing. It might turn out to be total crap (and that’s totally fine!) and I might give up before I finish, but stepping outside the comfort of my own creative process can’t be completely useless.

Maybe I’ll discover a hidden story inside my fingers. Maybe I’ll figure out I am a panster. Or maybe I’ll just confirm that I’m a plotter and a writer of contemp YA. Who knows. But I figure NaNo is a good time to try something new!

So, if you’re doing NaNo, add me as a buddy!

Here are a few photos I’ve pinned on this experiment:

Leave a Reply

