A Silence So Loud, Goals, Personal Stuff, Writing

Finishing It

I did it! (As my toddler likes to say all the time)

11066784_802333793183722_9198763387777785236_n

This draft is mostly horrible. It’s WAY too short, the stakes are pathetic, and I don’t really love most of the story. But. It’s Done.

As with any draft, I’ve learned a lot while writing. I found while drafting this one, I was more aware of my wording choices, more aware of using a word multiple times within a few paragraphs, and more aware of plot and story arcs. Which probably has something to do with how little I wanted to finish the damn thing because the plot arc is lackluster. I guess it’s not the arc, really, it’s the stakes. They need to be bigger, but I’m not sure how to do that.

So for now I think I’m going to back this one up and hide it from my view for awhile. Maybe a long while. I have a few ideas I’ve been tossing around that aren’t contemp YA, but also a really old NaNo draft that needs some major work that I might try to revise while the other ideas percolate. And who knows, maybe I’ll get a genies idea of how to make A Silence So Loud work better.

1 thought on “Finishing It”

  1. Yay! I love People Who Finish Things, because they are strong and smart!

    I read an interview with Toni Morrison on writing and failing right after I read this post. She says some important, ultimately positive things about not getting it right the first go-round. http://www.americantheatre.org/2015/03/10/write-erase-do-it-over-on-failure-risk-and-writing-outside-yourself/

    Been thinking a lot about this lately because I just spent a month learning lots of ways NOT to build a website–and eventually, agonizingly slowly, a couple of ways TO build one. It sounds to me like maybe the significance of this book was not the story, but what you taught yourself writing it. And I’d say that makes it worth having written it.

Leave a Reply

