Goals, Personal Stuff, Random, Writing

Somewhere in the sunshine and rain

It’s been almost three months since I last blogged. I would apologize for that, except, I’m not sorry. See, May and June were hard for me. Hard in my personal life, hard in my writing life, hard in my emotional life. Stresses, a car accident, repairs & court date, (an unlicensed and uninsured driver hit us, with our whole family in the car) writing roadblocks, and changes in my routine all spun me into a mess of blue. Add in record days of rain and no sunshine, and I was struggling.

So I pulled in. Writing went on the back-burner, most of my non-family life social media did too. I focused on things I could control, dove headlong into good books, and refocused on family and friends. I started running again and busted out my yoga mat most days. Little by little, things started to seem brighter. Our family settled into life on summer break (a very huge thing for us) and the sun finally started making an appearance (though, the rain continues in July).

I settled on a story to write, having given up my last completed draft after I couldn’t make it what it needed to be. This new WIP isn’t the story I referenced in this post, and that’s okay too. I’m still working on that one, but it needs more thought time, more world-building in my brain. This new story is part road-trip, part life on the road, and dreams and hardships, and family and friends, and finding that your home is where love grows.

11214342_857595967657504_7600010196196164537_n

THAT PLACE CALLED HOME has felt the most like a Me Story since my first YA novel. I’m happy when I write it (most of the time!) and the story itself brings me a level of hope that I haven’t had in awhile. It may not be the story that lands me an agent and/or a book deal, but it’s a story that reminds me that my dreams are worth chasing.

10561534_848764558540645_4070693293824403729_n

I’m hoping to blog soon on how I’m using Excel to outline and character build this time around. I love Excel…all those little boxes and the colors…Swoon. It has helped me tremendously so far. In the meantime, I’m hanging out on Instagram more often than even twitter lately, so follow me there if you’d like!

1 thought on “Somewhere in the sunshine and rain”

Leave a Reply

