Currently, Personal Stuff, Random, Reading, That Place Called Home, Writing

Currently……

I’m joining in on Katy Upperman’s every other Tuesday Currently post. It’s fun, so you should join in too! 🙂

Loving – My new car! Yesterday, Brett and I went to the Honda dealership to narrow down what vehicle we’d purchase in the near future. See, our cars were 10 and 12 years old, so we knew we’d need to get the ball rolling on replacing them soon so we don’t end up with two car payments at the same time. We ended up getting a good deal on a 2015 Civic and it’s got bells and whistles like heated seats, power moonroof, backup camera! So basically, it’s the most fancy thing we’ve ever owned and it’s awesome.

IMG_3766
New car selfie!

Reading – I did two rounds of revisions on THAT PLACE CALLED HOME in the last week or so, which means I haven’t read much at all. I’m reading a Bill Clinton biography and will start Six of Crows tonight (which I am SO excited because a bunch of friends have LOVED it).

IMG_3717
Office Supply Obsession In Action

Watching – Paw Patrol and Scooby Doo. 🙂 My youngest’s favorite new show is Paw Patrol and he’s dressing up as Marshall for Halloween. My oldest has recently become obsessed with Scooby Doo, but we can only watch it when the youngest is otherwise busy because he is in a super easy to scare phase.

Listening ToThe National Parks. I feel like I’m always out of the loop on music, especially outside of the country music genre, so everyone might already know this, but this group’s music is awesome!

Thinking About – Last week, two Kansas City Firefighters were killed on duty when a building collapsed. My husband is a firefighter (and paramedic), but works for a different department, but KC is the city we live in, the department my FIL works at, and the fire family is small and interconnected. My mind has not been far from thinking about the family, the wives that got the call I dread each time my husband heads to the station.

This video is heartbreaking. It gives me chills and makes my stomach hurt. The city had a memorial over the weekend, but my own firefighter was on duty, so I stayed home with the kids. I cried while watching bits and pieces of the two-hour long tribute to these heroes, and it was  awful, and comforting.

 

Anticipating – Notes from my CPs on THAT PLACE CALLED HOME. I sent the MS out to a handful of CPs late this weekend, gulp!

Also, NaNoWriMo. This week, I’m deciding on which story nugget I’m going to draft next month. I love NaNo; the frenzy, the local writing meet-ups, the online support. All of it!

Wishing – That fall could last forever. It’s my favorite!

Making Me Happy Gilmore Girls is coming back! I can’t even articulate how stoked I am about this.

 

Leave a Reply

