NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

I am once again signing up to spend my November furiously typing the next great American novel. Or, in this case, novelS.

I’m branching out of my comfort level to write something that has been an idea for a long while. Years, in fact. When my oldest turned 2, we discovered she has a peanut allergy. As we’ve journeyed through the food allergy world, one thing I’ve discovered is how few fiction books there are with characters that have food allergies. We’ve found a few picture books over the years, but not much by way of chapter books, the realm we’re now entering with her in first grade.

So, for NaNo this year, I’m going to write a series of early chapter books staring a group of elementary aged kiddos who all eat lunch at the peanut free table. One book wouldn’t be near hitting 50K, so I’ve got an outline for a handful of chapter books to hit that mark in November.

Tales From The Peanut Free Table of Starfield Elementary

I’m nervous to venture into such a different marketplace, but I’m excited too. Excited to take what has become a passion (keeping my kid safe and healthy, and encouraging her to not feel shame or other emotions for something she can’t control) and make it into something that can (hopefully) further encourage a healthy childhood for her and the thousands of other kids with food allergies.

If you’re doing NaNo, add me as a buddy! Accountability is key for my success!

1 thought on “NaNoWriMo 2015”

Leave a Reply

